Biosensors 2014

Congress Committee

Frances S. Ligler, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and North Carolina State University, USA

Frances S. LiglerFrances S. Ligler is the Navy’s Senior Scientist for Biosensors and Biomaterials and a member and past chair of the Bioengineering Section of the National Academy of Engineering. In August 2013, she will take up an appointment as the Lampe Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Engineering in the Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering in the College of Engineering at North Carolina State University and School of Medicine at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

She earned a B.S. from Furman University and both a D.Phil. and a D.Sc. from Oxford University. Currently working in the fields of biosensors and microfluidics, she has also performed research in biochemistry, immunology, and proteomics. She has over 350 full-length publications and patents, which have led to eleven commercial biosensor products and have been cited over 8200 times. She is the winner of the Navy Superior Civilian Service Medal, the National Drug Control Policy Technology Transfer Award, the Chemical Society Hillebrand Award, the Navy Merit Award, the Naval Research Laboratory (NRL) Technology Transfer Award, three NRL Edison Awards for Patent of the Year, the Furman University Bell Tower and Distinguished Alumni of the 20th Century Awards, and the national Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) Outstanding Achievement in Science Award.

She serves as an Associate Editor of Analytical Chemistry and on editorial/advisory boards for Biosensors & Bioelectronics, Analytical Bioanalytical Chemistry, Sensors, Open Optics, and Applied Biochemistry and Biotechnology. Elected an SPIE Fellow in 2000 and a Fellow of AIMBE in 2011, she also serves on the organizing committee for the World Biosensors Congress and the permanent steering committee for Europt(r)odes, the European Conference on Optical Sensors. In 2003, she was awarded the Homeland Security Award (Biological, Radiological, Nuclear Field) by the Christopher Columbus Foundation and the Presidential Rank of Distinguished Senior Professional by President Bush. In 2012, she was awarded the Presidential Rank of Meritorious Senior Professional by President Obama.

« Go Back

Hashtag #biosensors2014

Main Sponsor


Organised by

Organiser Logo

Supported by


Supporting Publication

Supporting Publication Logo

Visit our networking sites:

Blogger - ISDN 2012
Facebook - ISDN 2012
Twitter - ISDN 2012
Bio-Sensing conference